China officially filed an application to join the CPTPP


According to the website of the Chinese Ministry of Commerce, on September 16, Chinese Minister of Commerce Wang Wentao submitted a written letter from China to CPTPP depositary New Zealand Minister of Trade and Export Growth O’Connor. The ministers of the two countries also held a teleconference to communicate on the follow-up work related to China’s formal application for membership.

The countries currently signing the CPTPP include Japan, Canada, Australia, Chile, New Zealand, Singapore, Brunei, Malaysia, Vietnam, Mexico and Peru.